Hancock-Wood Electric members are being asked to vote on a Code of Regulations change to reduce the number of districts in our service area. Due to the timing of this change, the need for a special election is necessary to make the change before the next Annual Meeting and our regular election schedule. If the board-recommended code change is passed by the membership, the board will be reduced from 10 members to 9.

The current Hancock-Wood Electric Cooperative board is made up of 10 board members each representing one of the 10 districts in our service area. One board member is nearing the end of his term limit at Hancock-Wood and the board determined this was a good opportunity to investigate redistricting our service area and eliminating one district to reduce costs to our members.

PROPOSED CODE CHANGES (IN RED) REDUCING THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO NINE

ARTICLE IV BOARD OF TRUSTEES SECTION

- 1. General Powers. The entire business and affairs of the Cooperative shall be directed by a Board of nine (9) Trustees which shall exercise all of the powers of the Cooperative except such as are by law, the Articles of Incorporation or this Code of Regulations conferred upon or reserved to the members.
- 2. SECTION 2. Districts & Tenure of Office. The Board shall divide the service area of the Cooperative (9) Districts so that equitable representation may be given to the geographic areas served by the Cooperative. The Board shall have the power to change the boundaries and number of such Districts whenever in their opinion the purpose of the section requires such a change. Each District shall be represented by one Trustee. Three Trustees shall be elected each year by the members voting in the District which they are to represent to serve for a term of three (3) years or until their successors shall have been elected and shall have qualified, subject to the provisions of this Code of Regulations. No Trustee who has served four (4) successive 3- year terms shall be eligible for re-election or appointment as a Trustee until the expiration of 3 years from the end of his or her previous term.